Part 1–the iPhone

A subsequent post will discuss Androids (Samsung, LG, Motorolla, etc.)

If photos and images are filling up your phone’s memory, there is an excellent FREE solution–Google Photos!  If you upload the photos and videos to Google Photos, you can delete them from your phone.  Once they are in Google Photos, access them from any digital device anywhere in the world–good deal!

Icon for Google Drive. You will find Google Photos here!
First, you must set up a Google account (free). If you already use Gmail, then you have a Google account. If you don’t have a Google account, set one up by searching for Create a Google Account.  You will be asked to pick a user name and password.  A Gmail address is generated automatically, but you never have to use it if you don’t want to. Make sure you write your Google account information down so you can retrieve when needed!

Secondlydownload Google Drive to your iPhone.

Go the App Store (iPhone) and download the free app for Google Drive. The icon for Google Drive is on the above left.

When you open the app, you will need to sign in.  Then a screen similar to the one below will appear. Tap Google Photos.

 

Screen Shot 2017-06-13 at 9.50.06 AM

 

 

Once you have photos uploaded you will see them displayed in a way similar to the image below.  Upload photos by tapping the plus sign in the lower right hand corner.

Screen Shot 2017-06-13 at 9.48.48 AM

 

Next, you will see a screen similar to this one.

Look for the Upload icon and tap.

Screen Shot 2017-06-13 at 8.48.09 AM

 

Tap Photos and Videos.

Screen Shot 2017-06-13 at 8.52.01 AM

 

 

Choose where you want to get your photos from.

IMG_2135

 

Tap on the pictures you want to upload to Google Photos.  A blue check mark will appear on the image indicating it has been selected.

Tap Upload when you are all set.

Screen Shot 2017-06-13 at 8.53.23 AM

If you look in the lower left hand corner you will see that your pictures are uploading.  When they finish, you can access them from any digital device anywhere in the world!  Just remember your Google sign-in info!

Screen Shot 2017-06-13 at 9.50.57 AM

 

Once you are sure your photos have uploaded to Google Photos (Close the Google Drive app and then reopen it and go to Google Photos–are your pictures there?), you can delete them from your phone and open more space for additional photos and videos.

Tagged on: